Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings in last-ball at IPL 2019

DNALive24 : Sports
Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 1 run on Sunday to win their 4th IPL title
Mumbai Indians defeated defending champions Chennai Super Kings by 1 run in a thriller in Hyderabad on Sunday to become the 1st team to win the Indian Premier League 4 times.

Shane Watson played a starring role for Chennai Super Kings in an IPL final for the second successive year but his efforts were in vain as MI made a spectacular comeback.

Lasith Malinga, who had given away 42 runs in the 1st 3 overs, came back strong to defend 9 runs in the final over. He got the wicket of Shardul Thakur in the final ball when CSK needed 2 runs.

MI were on top after Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni were dismissed early before Shane Watson played another top knock in an IPL final. On May 27, 2018, Shane Watson had smashed an unbeaten 117 off 57 balls to script CSK's 3rd IPL triumph. On May 12, 2019 Shane Watson hit 80 off 59 but it wasn't enough as CSK lost to MI in a last-ball thriller.

Chasing 150, Chennai Super Kings got off to a quick start. Faf du Plessis led the charge with a quickfire 26 before falling to Krunal Pandya in the 4th over. His wicket allowed Mumbai Indians to put the pressure back on the defending champions.

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post